Congratulations to our 2015 ALA Winners and Award Honorees

2015 ALA Winners and Award Honorees

American Library Association awards are globally recognized for honoring original and creative work for children and young adults. These HMH® titles were selected by committees of librarians and experts as outstanding in the areas noted below. An ALA award ensures parents, educators, librarians and others that they are providing the highest quality materials for their students and children.

HMH is proud of all our nominees and winners:

The Crossover

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Newbery Medal
Coretta Scott King Honor

Alexander’s book is the 2015 Newbery Medal winner. The John Newbery Medal is awarded yearly for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature. The Crossover is also a King Author Honor Book. Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.

Buy Now

Nana in the City

Nana in the City by Lauren Castillo

Caldecott Honor Book

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published in the previous year. We are proud to announce Castillo is a 2015 Caldecott® Honor Award recipient.

Buy Now

A Boy and a Jaguar

A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz; Illustrated by Catia Chen

Schneider Family Book Award

The Schneider Family Book Award honors the author and illustrator of a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. A Boy and a Jaguar is the 2015 winner in the picture book category.

Buy Now

Mr. Putter and Tabby Turn the Page

Mr. Putter and Tabby Turn the Page by Cynthia Rylant; Illustrated by Arthur Howard

Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. Mr. Putter and Tabby Turn the Page is recognized as a Geisel Honor Book for 2015.

Buy Now

Ida M. Tarbell

Ida M. Tarbell: The Woman Who Challenged Big Business – And Won! by Emily Arnold McCully

YALSA Finalist

McCully’s title was a finalist for the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. YALSA honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12–18) during the publishing year.

Buy Now