Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women

by Melissa Sweet, Catherine Thimmesh

Award winning author-illustrator duo Catherine Thimmesh and Melissa Sweet inspire a new generation of innovators in this fascinating celebration of women inventors from diverse backgrounds.  For fans of WOMEN WHO DARED and WOMEN IN SCIENCE. 

 

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780618195633
  • ISBN-10: 0618195637
  • Pages: 64
  • Publication Date: 03/11/2002
  • Carton Quantity: 50

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Authors
Reviews
  • About the Book
    Award winning author-illustrator duo Catherine Thimmesh and Melissa Sweet inspire a new generation of innovators in this fascinating celebration of women inventors from diverse backgrounds.  For fans of WOMEN WHO DARED and WOMEN IN SCIENCE. 

     

    In kitchens and living rooms, in garages and labs and basements, even in converted chicken coops, women and girls have invented ingenious innovations that have made our lives simpler and better. Their creations are some of the most enduring (the windshield wiper) and best loved (the chocolate chip cookie). What inspired these women, and just how did they turn their ideas into realities? 

     

    From Sibert winner Catherine Thimmesh and Caldecott honor winner Melissa Sweet, this collective biography tells the stories of women and girls, their obstacles, and how they changed the world with their inventions.

  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
  • Reviews
    "GIRLS THINK OF EVERYTHING is a wonderful book, as surprising as it is inspiring .... Buy this book for the girl you love today, and she may well become a mother of invention tomorrow." -- Pulitzer Prize winner Natalie Angier, author of WOMAN: AN INTIMATE GEOGRAPHY, 1999 National Book Award finalist

    BOX "This very attractive, informative book will find an audience among browsers and report writers alike." —Booklist, boxed review (3/15/00) Booklist, ALA, Starred Review

    "An outstanding collective biography of women and girls who changed the world with their inventions." —School Library Journal (4/00) School Library Journal

    "This book is an inspired ode to women inventors." —Publishers Weekly Publishers Weekly

You May Also Enjoy

×