It All Comes Down to This

by Karen English

Available 12/17/2019

A powerful middle grade coming-of-age novel set in a slowly integrating upper middle class Los Angeles neighborhood in the summer of 1965, from a Coretta Scott King Honor Award-winning author. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Sharon M. Draper.

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780358098539
  • ISBN-10: 035809853X
  • Pages: 368
  • Publication Date: 12/17/2019
  • Carton Quantity: 24

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Author
Reviews
  • About the Book
    A powerful middle grade coming-of-age novel set in a slowly integrating upper middle class Los Angeles neighborhood in the summer of 1965, from a Coretta Scott King Honor Award-winning author. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Sharon M. Draper. 

     

    It’s 1965, Los Angeles. Sophie is the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky. Plus, there’s her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. Then riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, and Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought. 

      

    "Honest, witty . . . relatable. Unfairness and race-consciousness run through the story—so do surprises. Bigotry wears many guises. Kindness does too." —Wall Street Journal 

     

    * "Thoughtful and well-wrought. . . . Compassionate, pointed, and empowering." —Booklist, starred review 

     

    * "An impressive coming-of-age story." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review 

     

    * "Reveals how an impressionable and intelligent child learns from the injustices that touch her, her family, and her friends." —PW, starred review

  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
  • Reviews
    A Kirkus Prize Finalist 

     

    "Honest, witty...relatable. Unfairness and race-consciousness run through the story—so do surprises. Bigotry wears many guises. Kindness does too." —Wall Street Journal 

     

    * "Satisfying." —SLJ, starred 

     

    * "Thoughtful and well-wrought...compassionate, pointed, and empowering." —Booklist, starred 

     

    * "An impressive coming-of-age story." —Kirkus Reviews, starred 

     

    * "Reveals how an impressionable and intelligent child learns from the injustices that touch her, her family, and her friends." —PW, starred 

     

    "The perspective of an upper-middle-class African American family is an unusual and welcome one. Fans of Rita Williams-Garcia will enjoy this moving, frank novel." —Horn Book

You May Also Enjoy

×