Miss Muffet, or What Came After

by Marilyn Singer, David Litchfield

From an award-winning poet, a hilarious picture book in verse that chronicles the adventures of Miss Muffet and her spider friend, Webster, after the whole tuffet episode.


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780547905662
  • ISBN-10: 0547905661
  • Pages: 40
  • Publication Date: 09/06/2016
  • Carton Quantity: 42

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Authors
  • About the Book
    People will tell you that all little Miss Muffet wanted was to sit quietly and eat her curds and whey. They’ll insist that she was so scared of a spider, she ran away from it, and that’s where her story ends. Well, those people are wrong! Miss Muffet is more daring than that—and so is the spider. Together, they head off on an escapade involving a host of other nursery rhyme characters to help a famous old monarch who’s lost his fiddlers three. 

         Told in clever verse arranged like a musical theater production, this hilarious picture book reveals the true story of the adventures of Miss Muffet and her spider friend. 

  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
  • Reviews
    "There is the meat of the story, beautifully told in verse, as well as a musical narration by a trio of observers. In addition, there are stage notes in text boxes that set the scene and conversational text in speech bubbles. All of these elements come together on each page to create a narrative that brims with life... A richly complex fractured fairly tale well suited for classroom sharing, performance, or readers’ theater." 

    —School Library Journal 


    "Serious fun whether read or performed." 


You May Also Enjoy