Weekends with Max and His Dad

by Linda Urban, Katie Kath

From acclaimed author Linda Urban comes a younger middle-grade novel about the weekend adventures of a boy and his dad, who each see "home" in new ways as they adjust to changes in their family.  

 

 

 

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9781328900197
  • ISBN-10: 1328900193
  • Pages: 176
  • Publication Date: 04/17/2018
  • Carton Quantity: 48

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Authors
Reviews
  • About the Book
    From acclaimed author Linda Urban comes a younger middle-grade novel about the weekend adventures of a boy and his dad, who each see "home" in new ways as they adjust to changes in their family.  

     

    Max and his dad love their weekends together. Weekends mean pancakes, pizza, spy games, dog walking, school projects, and surprising neighbors! Every weekend presents a small adventure as Max gets to know his dad’s new neighborhood—and learns some new ways of thinking about home. 

     

    Acclaimed author Linda Urban deftly portrays a third-grader’s inner world during a time of transition in this sweet and funny illustrated story that bridges the early reader and middle grade novel.

  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
  • Reviews
    Bulletin Blue Ribbon 2016 

    Raleigh News & Observer Best of 2016 

     

    "Fans of Clementine and Ramona have a reason to rejoice: there's a new kid on the block (at least for the weekend). Bighearted, hilarious, and tender, Weekends with Max and His Dad is an absolute charmer." —Katherine Applegate, Newbery medalist 

     

    * "Urban’s subtle and perceptive take on divorce will resonate with children facing similar predicaments as she blends Max’s worries and “someone-sitting-on-his-chest” feelings with a vivid imagination and good intentions that take father and son on some very entertaining adventures—with future ones planned." 

    Publishers Weekly, starred review 

     

    * "Urban excels at credibly presenting this situation from Max’s third-grade point of view... Urban’s writing is both crisply specific (a basset hound “sniffed as she walked through puddles, dragging her ears like flat-bottomed boats”) and simple enough to be accessible." 

    Bulletin, starred review 

     

    "Urban’s touch is light throughout, and with likable characters... and a story just right for budding chapter-book readers, she’s off to a good start." 

    —Horn Book 

     

    "The cast of characters grows throughout, but at the heart of the story is Max’s warm, easygoing relationship with his father." 

    —Booklist

You May Also Enjoy

×